Prayer for Freeing Insects


It seems as though every day I capture and release a few insects from my home. Before I release a bug, I introduce it to the Buddha by carrying it to my prayer room and showing it the holy objects. Then I say this prayer:

May you be free from suffering in this and all future lives,
May you never be reborn as an insect but only be born in the higher realms and
May you quickly attain Enlightenment.

Then I recite a few Om Mane Padme Hums and other mantras and set it free.  I imagine that I am breathing in all of the small creature’s fear at being trapped and breathing out peace. This is an easy practice that both children and adults enjoy.

Leave a Reply

